Find a Shop or Service Search DMN & WFAA Classifieds Search Archives back to 1984 AP Live News Wire Scan Top Headlines
About APSE
 Key dates
 Regional chairs
 Committee chairs
 Newsletter archive
 APSE history
 APSE presidents
 How to join APSE

99 convention
 Phoenix visitors
 Heard Museum
 Phoenix Airport
 Arizona Republic

The Contest
The preliminary and final judges


Daily sections (under 50,000): Reid Laymance, San Jose Mercury News (chair); Tim Dwyer, Philadelphia Inquirer; Mark Leary, Gannett Suburban Newspapers; Chuck Stewart, Dallas Morning News; Jim Thomas, Arizona Republic; Bill Windler, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Daily sections (50,000-175,000): Julie Engebrecht, Cincinnati Enquirer (chair); Chris D’Amico, Newark Star-Ledger; Jeff Krupsaw, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette; Tom Martinez, Greeley Daily Tribune; John Rich, Fresno Bee; Brett Thacker, San Antonio Express-News.

Daily sections (over 175,000): Tim Burke, Palm Beach Post (chair); Jim Barger, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Gabe Buonauro, Record (Hackensack, N.J.); Leon Carter, New York Daily News; Leba Hertz, San Francisco Examiner; Bart Wright, Corpus Christi Caller-Times.

Sunday sections (under 50,000): Dave Campbell, Cleveland Plain Dealer (chair); Steve Carlic, Syracuse Newspapers; Jimmy DuPree, Durham Herald-Sun; George Manes, Santa Rosa Press Democrat; Jeff Otterbein, Hartford Courant; Don Skwar, Boston Globe.

Sunday sections (50,000-175,000): Ray Cox, Atlanta Journal and Constitution (chair); Glen Crevier, Minneapolis Star Tribune; Mark Erwin, Davis Enterprise; Mike Haddon, Vancouver Province; Geoff Larcom, Ann Arbor News; Dave Morgan, Los Angeles Times; Barry Schickling, West Chester Local News.

Sunday sections (over 175,000): Steve Rocca, New Orleans Times-Picayune (chair); Craig Ewing, Louisville Courier-Journal; Tom Fay, Victorville Daily Press; Barry Forbis, Rocky Mountain News; Mike Guersch, San Jose Mercury News; Dwight Perry, Seattle Post-Intelligencer; Brian White, Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel.

Special sections (under 50,000); game story (over 175,000): Todd Leonard, San Diego Union (chair); John Cherwa, Chicago Tribune; Rob Manker, La Salle News Tribune; Eric McHugh, Greenwich Time; Jerry Micco, Contra Costa Times; Glenn Schwarz, San Francisco Examiner; John Stamm, Memphis Commercial Appeal.

Special sections (50,000-175,000); game story (50,000-175,000): Jack Genung, Home News and Tribune (East Brunswick, N.J.) (chair); Randy Beard, Anderson Independent-Mail; Cathy Henkel, Seattle Times; Scott Monserud, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Bruce Potter, Richmond Times-Dispatch; James Walker, Oakland Press.

Special sections (over 175,000); game story under 50,000): Tracee Hamilton, Washington Post (chair); Bill Brink, New York Times; Ray Frager, Baltimore Sun; David Langford, London Free Press; Dan McGrath, Chicago Tribune; Keith Thursby, Los Angeles Times.

Column writing (under 50,000 and over 175,000): Alan Whitt, Detroit News (chair); Rick Crotts, Atlanta Journal and Constitution; Dan Cunningham, Houston Chronicle; Dennis Peck, Oregonian.

Column writing (50,000-175,000); enterprise reporting (50,000-175,000): Mike James, Los Angeles Times (chair); Larry Pantages, Akron Beacon-Journal; Ken Patterson, Anniston Star; Neal Scarbrough, Denver Post; Jim Welch, USA Today.

Enterprise reporting (under 50,000 and over 175,000): Mike Kern, San Francisco Chronicle (chair); John Garrett, Riverside Press-Enterprise; Lynn Hoppes, Orlando Sentinel; Thomas O’Toole, Scripps-Howard News Service.

Feature story (under 50,000 and over 175,000): Cindy Boren, Sporting News (chair); Paul Gelormino, Oregonian; Stan McNeal, San Diego Union-Tribune; Gene Warnick, Yakima Herald-Republic.

News story (all three circulation categories): Garry Howard, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (chair); Richard Bush, Miami Herald; Bill Dwyre, Los Angeles Times; Kim Gorum, Waco Tribune-Herald.

Investigative reporting (all entries judged in one category); feature story (50,000-175,000): Gene Myers, Detroit Free Press (chair); Roy Hewitt, Cleveland Plain Dealer; Gary Rubin, Times/Post News Service; C.P. Smith, Orange County Register; Elaine Sung, Newsday.


Column writing (all circulation categories): John Arthur, managing editor, Los Angeles Times; Dan Hatfield, editorial page editor, Contra Costa Times; Steve Shirk, managing editor, Kansas City Star; Kathy Warbelow, managing editor, Austin American-Statesman.

Enterprise reporting (under 50,000): Jody Calendar, managing editor, Record (Hackensack, N.J.); Bill Greer, assistant managing editor, Palm Beach Post; Jack McElroy, managing editor, Rocky Mountain News; Wayne Mitchell, editor, Anderson Independent-Mail; Gary Unangst, enterprise editor, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

Enterprise reporting (50,000-175,000): Dave Bishop, associate editor, Ann Arbor News; Jeff Cohen, editor, Albany Times Union; Carol Leigh Hutton, managing editor, Detroit Free Press; Peter Kovacs, managing editor, New Orleans Times-Picayune.

Enterprise reporting (over 175,000): Glenn Guzzo, managing editor, Akron Beacon Journal; Jeff Light, deputy editor, Orange County Register; Tom Mulvoy, managing editor, Boston Globe; Ernie Williamson, assistant managing editor, Houston Chronicle.

Feature story (all circulation categories): Carol Bangert, managing editor, Lafayette Journal and Courier; David Davidson, sports administrative editor, Atlanta Journal and Constitution (50,000-175,000); George Edmonson, assistant managing editor, Atlanta Journal and Constitution (under 50,000); Marty Fischhoff, assistant managing editor, Detroit News; Thomas Oliver, assistant managing editor, Atlanta Journal and Constitution (over 175,000); Jeff Wohler, assistant managing editor, Oregonian.

Game story (all circulation categories): Dale Bye, managing editor, Huntsville Times; Kevin Dale, senior managing editor, Journal News (White Plains, N.Y.); Steve Doyle, assistant managing editor, Orlando Sentinel; Mary Hader, managing editor, Washington Post; Paul Harral, ombudsman, Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

News story (all circulation categories): Libby Averyt, metro editor, Corpus Christi Caller-Times; Jon C. Ham, managing editor, Durham Herald-Sun; Pete Johnson, night managing editor, Cincinnati Enquirer; Jack Schnedler, deputy managing editor, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

Investigative reporting (all entries judged in one category: Pam Fine, managing editor, Minneapolis Star Tribune; Tim Franklin, associate managing editor, Chicago Tribune; Marty Kaiser, editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel; Chris Morris, assistant managing editor, Miami Herald; Mel Opotowsky, ombudsman, Riverside Press-Enterprise.

Your views
 Will you be attending the APSE convention in Phoenix?
Vote now

Submit your questions about the APSE to The Dallas Morning News' Sports Editor Bob Yates.

Bob Yates

 First Vice President
Tracy Dodds

 Second Vice President
Rick Vacek

 Third Vice President
Randy Beard

Ed Storin

 Convention Coordinator
Herb Stutz

 Newsletter production
Kenn Finkel

 Website maintenance

Other sites

[ Sports Day | ]
© 1999 The Dallas Morning News
This site is best viewed using Netscape 4.0 or IE 4.0.